From NixOS to NixOS flake

Hello, I am not an expert, I am learning. So this question is probably basic.

I put together a gist to reproduce where I am so far. I would like to build NixOS for netbooting with flake.

here the gist (https://gist.github.com/gianarb/c72c5158b237749c365183892b3fcce6) that you can clone with:

git@gist.github.com:c72c5158b237749c365183892b3fcce6.git

This is the error I get:

$ nixos-rebuild build --impure --flake .#generic
building the system configuration...
warning: Git tree '/home/gianarb/.dotfiles' is dirty
warning: creating lock file '/home/gianarb/.dotfiles/nixos/machines/lab-generic-netbooting/flake.lock'
warning: Git tree '/home/gianarb/.dotfiles' is dirty
error: You're trying to declare a value of type `string'
       rather than an attribute-set for the option
       `system'!

This usually happens if `system' has option
       definitions inside that are not matched. Please check how to properly define
       this option by e.g. referring to `man 5 configuration.nix'!
(use '--show-trace' to show detailed location information)

I am not sure what this issue tells me. I would also like to remove needs for --impure but I am not sure how to do so.

Any pointers for me?
Thanks a lot

3 Likes

Good thing you’re posting in the “learn” category then :wink: Let me just review your code and point out all the small things, we’ll fix the errors along the way.

Warning: Turns out there’s a lot of strange things happening here. Apologies for the wall of text, I’ll very happily answer more specific questions, too.

Let’s start with the flake.nix:

{
  description = "A very basic flake";

inputs =
    {
      nixpkgs.url = "github:NixOS/nixpkgs/nixos-22.05";
    };

outputs = { nixpkgs, home-manager, ... }:
    let
      system = "x86_64-linux";
      pkgs = import nixpkgs {
        inherit system;
        config = { allowUnfree = true; };
      };
      lib = nixpkgs.lib;
    in
    {

nixosConfigurations = {