Novice question: debugging a package fix: can I locally override just a single line of a long multi-line string in a package?

tl;dr Hi, I’m a software developer and a nixos user, but no real development experience with nix toolchain (other than using nixos for my laptop). I’m trying to learn though - so my question: how do I locally override just a single line in a large string of a package I have installed on my system?

I’ve been reading up on nix language and saw that this is a very normal use-case. I think my end goal would be running my own “derivation” of said package I’m debugging? But I’m unsure what the syntax would look like in my case.

Here’s my specific case: I want to apply the following diff’s change to nixpkgs/pkgs/servers/dict/dictd-db-collector.nix package

I think I should be able to test this in nix repl maybe(?) with some syntax like:

someNixPackageName { installPhase = ''
my copy/pasted tweak of that huge string
''
}

Am I on the right track? Any pointers appreciated! eg: I’d define a new .nix file - probably anywhere(?) and just run it directly as a one-off test (with what command?) to get a shell with just this one-off derivation installed?

Yes, you can clone the Nixpkgs repository, do whatever changes you wish to test, and then build a package or even rebuild your NixOS installation from this modified checkout. Do you want to just test a package or use the modifications for a NixOS service?

1 Like

Ah I hadn’t thought of cloning the repo. I was thinking I’d need to modify my own existing .nix files to refer to this upstream repo/package. But cloning the repo sounds fine too…

If I want to just test and throw-away the test (rather than add a new iteration to my system’s versions), would that be via nix-shell -p ..local-path-to-cloned-.nix-file or some such?