Unable to connect to internet during install

Trying to install on a Lenovo Thinkpad T14 AMD Gen 3 laptop. Using either the graphical or minimal (new kernel, see below) installer, I am unable to connect to the internet and begin an install. EDIT: I also attempted to use Ethernet with the graphical installer but it didn’t seem to work, though GNOME reported a wired connection, unsure what the problem is there. The Network Card is a Qualcomm NFA725A, which seems to have received support somewhere between 5.16 to 5.19.

Note that I am a complete newbie to Nix and NixOS.

I tried a minimal installer with a newer 5.19 kernel, downloaded from Hydra as I suspect the issue is with the graphical ISO unable to use the WiFi card, but despite the linked minimal ISO having the 5.19 kernel, following the wpa_supplicant steps from the manual does not work; the wpa_cli just continually scans for my WPA2 network and fails to find and connect to it.

I am unsure if the manual’s steps apply for WPA2. I tried looking for documentation on the interactive wpa_cli but I was not able to find anything about setting the KEY_MGMT field.

I do know that Fedora seems to run happily with internet on the machine with the 6.0 kernel. Is there any way to get an installer with the 6.0 kernel in the ISO? I couldn’t find a newer minimal ISO than the one linked above but I probably just don’t know where to look. (Would be even better if there was a graphical installer with it too.)

Your issue is likely linked with How to get a NixOs image with newer kernel? - #6 by ius

So if you have a phone, the simplest thing you can do to get internet during install is to enable USB tethering to share the phone’s internet (wifi or data) over usb. On android, it’s trivial: just plug the USB cable between the phone and the computer, go to (approximate translation) Settings > Connections > Mobile access point and modem > USB modem and enjoy internet! You can then install the most recent kernel using