Declare Firefox extensions and settings

Hello everyone!

I’m on a quest to declaratively manage as much of my system as possible. As part of this journey, I recently tackled Firefox’ configuration including extensions/add-ons and preferences. Because I’m fairly new to Nix and NixOS myself, it took me quite a while to figure out the details. That’s why I would like to share my results so far with anyone who’s in a similar situation like me and wants a quick and basic reference. It is simple and easy to read with minimal prior knowledge of Nix required and doesn’t depend on third-party Flakes.

EXTENSIONS
I’m using uBlock Origin, Privacy Badger and 1Password extensions, but the syntax for setting up other add-ons is the same.

FINDING EXTENSION IDs
If you’re having trouble finding a specific extension’s ID, you can always temporarily install it imperatively (the normal non-Nix way via the Firefox menu) and check the entries in the Add-ons section of about:support.

FINDING AVAILABLE PREFERENCES
For available preferences check the about:config page and for policy options the templates list provided by Mozilla.
If you want to adapt and expand on the settings used below and your customizations aren’t applied as expected, you can check the about:policies page for errors. (A list of supported preferences that start with certain prefixes can be found here.)

I hope this basic guide will be useful for some users who are new to NixOS and want to configure Firefox the Nix way. Please let me know if you have any suggestions/additions for improvement.

Here’s the contents of my current firefox.nix file that can be imported to your existing configuration:

{ config, pkgs, ... }:

let
    lock-false = {
      Value = false;
      Status = "locked";
    };
    lock-true = {
      Value = true;
      Status = "locked";
    };
  in
{
  programs = {
    firefox = {
      enable = true;
      languagePacks = [ "de" "en-US" ];

/* ---- POLICIES ---- */